Shellmark is an informational tool, not legal advice. Always verify current FWC rules before you harvest. Not affiliated with or endorsed by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.

Shellmark
Florida shellfish regulations

The rules, as FWC publishes them

Season windows, bag and vessel limits, size rules and gear rules for the 11 species Shellmark tracks, by zone - three of them, queen conch, horseshoe crab and Bahama starfish, may not be harvested at all. FWC is the authority; this page is Shellmark's record of what FWC's own pages stated, with a link to the FWC page behind every species.

Retrieved from FWC sources October 24, 2026.

Verify current FWC rules.

FWC can close a season at any time

An executive order can close a season, a zone or an entire fishery between one trip and the next, and this page will not know about it. Check FWC's current executive orders and closures before you harvest.

This page does not work out whether anything is open right now. It shows the dates, limits and rules as Shellmark recorded them from FWC on the date above - read them against today's date, and against any closure FWC has posted since. Where Shellmark's record holds something FWC's page did not state on that date, the page says so and sends you to FWC instead of printing a guess.

Species

Bay scallop

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/bay-scallops

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-24.

Gulf County Zone

Closed

St. Joseph Bay, Mexico Beach Canal to St. Vincent Island

2026 season - CLOSED (precautionary)

Season

St. Joseph Bay and Gulf County: CLOSED. FWC's season page states: 'The 2026 bay scallop season in this region is closed to harvest. A summer 2026 survey by FWC's Fish and Wildlife Research Institute in St. Joseph Bay showed very low bay scallop abundance. This precautionary closure is intended to increase the chances that existing scallops can produce offspring to preserve and support future scallop seasons in the region. FWC will work with the community to identify and implement restoration efforts and will continue to monitor the situation. The area is still open for other recreational activities like fishing, boating, and swimming. For more information, see Executive Order 26-28. This region includes all state waters from the Mexico Beach Canal in Bay County to the westernmost point of St. Vincent Island in Franklin County.' No open dates were published for this zone for 2026.

Daily bag limit

0 - harvest prohibited for the 2026 season in this zone.

Vessel limit

0 - harvest prohibited for the 2026 season in this zone.

Size and sex limits

N/A - no harvest permitted in this zone for 2026. FWC publishes 'Minimum Size Limit: None' for bay scallops statewide.

Gear rules

N/A while closed. FWC's statewide gear rule when a zone is open: 'Legal Gear: Harvest permitted only by hand or by using a landing or dip net' and 'Commercial harvest prohibited.'

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Franklin County through Northwestern Taylor County Zone

2026 season

Season

FWC: 'Franklin County through northwestern Taylor County (including Carrabelle, Lanark and St. Marks): July 1 through Sept. 24. This region includes all state waters from the westernmost point of St. Vincent Island in Franklin County to Rock Island near the mouth of the Fenholloway River in Taylor County.'

Daily bag limit

2 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1 pint of bay scallop meat, per person.

Vessel limit

Maximum of 10 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1/2 gallon bay scallop meat (1/2 gallon = 4 pints), per vessel. FWC note: vessel limits do not allow an individual to exceed their personal bag limit.

Size and sex limits

Minimum Size Limit: None.

Gear rules

Legal Gear: Harvest permitted only by hand or by using a landing or dip net. Commercial harvest prohibited.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Fenholloway through Suwannee Rivers Zone

including Keaton Beach and the Steinhatchee area

2026 season - lowered bag limit June 15-30

Season

FWC: 'Fenholloway through Suwannee Rivers Zone (including Keaton Beach and the Steinhatchee area): June 15 through Labor Day. This region includes all state waters east of Rock Island near the mouth of the Fenholloway River in Taylor County and north of Alligator Pass daybeacon #4 near the mouth of the Suwannee River in Levy County. This area has a lowered bag limit June 15-30.'

Daily bag limit

June 15-30: 1 gallon whole bay scallops in shell or one cup shucked per person. July 1 - Labor Day: 2 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1 pint of bay scallop meat per person.

Vessel limit

June 15-30: 5 gallons whole or two pints shucked per vessel. July 1 - Labor Day: Maximum of 10 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell, or 1/2 gallon bay scallop meat (1/2 gallon = 4 pints) per vessel. NOTE: Vessel limits do not allow an individual to exceed their personal bag limit.

Size and sex limits

Minimum Size Limit: None.

Gear rules

Legal Gear: Harvest permitted only by hand or by using a landing or dip net. Commercial harvest prohibited.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Levy, Citrus and Hernando counties

including Cedar Key, Crystal River and Homosassa

2026 season

Season

FWC: 'Levy, Citrus and Hernando counties (including Cedar Key, Crystal River and Homosassa): July 1 through Sept. 24. This region includes all state waters south of Alligator Pass daybeacon #4 near the mouth of the Suwannee River in Levy County and north of the Hernando - Pasco county line.'

Daily bag limit

2 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1 pint of bay scallop meat, per person.

Vessel limit

Maximum of 10 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1/2 gallon bay scallop meat (1/2 gallon = 4 pints), per vessel. FWC note: vessel limits do not allow an individual to exceed their personal bag limit.

Size and sex limits

Minimum Size Limit: None.

Gear rules

Legal Gear: Harvest permitted only by hand or by using a landing or dip net. Commercial harvest prohibited.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Pasco County Zone

Closed

2026 season - closed early (Pyrodinium bahamense)

Season

FWC: 'Pasco Zone: Closed effective August 6, 2026. The bay scallop season in this region is closed to harvest due to the detection of toxin-producing algae Pyrodinium bahamense at levels exceeding the safety thresholds established by the National Shellfish Sanitation Program. The Pasco Zone will reopen for scallop harvest once tests show levels have decreased to safe limits. The area is still open for other recreational activities like fishing, boating, and swimming. For more information, see Executive Order 26-27.'

FWC adds: 'This region includes all state waters south of the Hernando - Pasco County line and north of Anclote Key Lighthouse in northern Pinellas County, and includes all waters of the Anclote River.'

FWC's season page publishes no open dates for this zone

Daily bag limit

0 since Aug. 6, 2026 - the Pasco Zone is closed to harvest. While open, FWC's published bag limit for Levy through Pasco County applies: 2 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1 pint of bay scallop meat per person.

Vessel limit

0 since Aug. 6, 2026 - the Pasco Zone is closed to harvest. While open, FWC's published vessel limit for Levy through Pasco County applies: maximum of 10 gallons of whole bay scallops in shell or 1/2 gallon bay scallop meat (1/2 gallon = 4 pints). NOTE: Vessel limits do not allow an individual to exceed their personal bag limit.

Size and sex limits

Minimum Size Limit: None.

Gear rules

N/A while closed. While open: Legal Gear: Harvest permitted only by hand or by using a landing or dip net. Commercial harvest prohibited.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the dates originally announced for this zone's 2026 season, before the closure. Those dates are no longer on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so they are not published here - see FWC for this zone's current status.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Spiny lobster

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/lobster

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-24.

Statewide Florida state waters

except Monroe County and Biscayne National Park

Two-day sport (mini) season (annual, last Wed-Thu of July)

Season

FWC sport season: 'Season: July 28-29, 2027 (last consecutive Wednesday and Thursday of July each year, for residents and non-residents).'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

12 lobsters per person per day, per FWC ('Daily Bag Limit: 6 per person for Monroe County and Biscayne National Park; 12 per person for rest of Florida').

Vessel limit

Not specified as a separate vessel cap by FWC; only the per-person daily bag limit applies. FWC publishes 'Possession limit on the water: equal to the daily bag limit' and 'Possession limit off the water: equal to the daily bag limit on July 29, 2026, and double the daily bag limit on July 30, 2026', plus 'Possession limits are enforced on and off the water.'

Size and sex limits

Carapace length must be larger than 3 inches, measured in the water. Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times. The harvest or possession of eggbearing spiny lobster, or any other eggbearing species of lobster belonging to the families Palinuridae (spiny lobsters), Scyllaridae (slipper lobsters) or Synaxidae (furry lobsters) is prohibited.

Gear rules

Recreational trapping prohibited. No person shall harvest or attempt to harvest spiny lobster using any device which will or could puncture, penetrate or crush the exoskeleton (shell) or the flesh of the lobster. Lobster must be landed in whole condition; separating the tail from the body is prohibited in state waters. Harvesting lobster from a non-permitted artificial habitat is prohibited in Florida.

FWC publishes for this season: 'Allowable Gear: Landing nets or dip nets, bullynets with a diameter not exceeding 3 feet, and hoop nets with a diameter not exceeding 10 feet.' 'Prohibited Gear: Any device that could puncture, penetrate, or crush the exoskeleton or flesh of the lobster, bleach or other chemical solution, artificial habitat, and traps.' 'Required Gear: Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record states that the 2026 sport season has passed. FWC's page gives its sport-season dates for 2027 while its off-the-water possession limits, quoted above, still name the 2026 dates; Shellmark quotes FWC as found and does not resolve that difference, and does not publish the statement that the 2026 season has passed - see FWC for current season and possession limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a sport-season restriction on how lobster may be taken, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Monroe County and Biscayne National Park

Two-day sport (mini) season (annual, last Wed-Thu of July)

Season

Same statewide sport-season dates. FWC: 'Season: July 28-29, 2027 (last consecutive Wednesday and Thursday of July each year, for residents and non-residents).'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

6 lobsters per person per day, per FWC ('Daily Bag Limit: 6 per person for Monroe County and Biscayne National Park; 12 per person for rest of Florida').

Vessel limit

Not specified as a separate vessel cap by FWC; only the per-person daily bag limit applies.

Size and sex limits

Carapace length must be larger than 3 inches, measured in the water. Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times. The harvest or possession of eggbearing spiny lobster is prohibited.

Gear rules

The statewide sport-season gear rules apply (recreational trapping prohibited; no device which will or could puncture, penetrate or crush the exoskeleton or the flesh; lobster must be landed in whole condition and separating the tail from the body is prohibited in state waters), including FWC's published gear lists for the sport season: 'Allowable Gear: Landing nets or dip nets, bullynets with a diameter not exceeding 3 feet, and hoop nets with a diameter not exceeding 10 feet.' 'Prohibited Gear: Any device that could puncture, penetrate, or crush the exoskeleton or flesh of the lobster, bleach or other chemical solution, artificial habitat, and traps.' 'Required Gear: Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times.' Additionally, FWC publishes for the sport season: 'Night Diving: Prohibited in Monroe County (ONLY during sport season). Diving is defined as swimming at or below the surface of the water.' FWC publishes no hours for that prohibition

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record states that the 2026 sport season has passed. FWC's page gives its sport-season dates for 2027 and does not say that, so it is not published here - see FWC for current season dates.
  • Shellmark's record carries the hours of this night-diving prohibition, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter. FWC's page states the prohibition but publishes no hours, so no hours are published here - see FWC for current gear and diving restrictions.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Statewide Florida state waters

regular season

Season

FWC regular season: 'Season: Aug. 6-March 31'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

6 lobsters per person per day statewide, including Monroe County and Biscayne National Park (FWC regular-season block: 'Daily Bag Limit: 6 per person'). No separate reduced limit applies during the regular season.

Vessel limit

Not specified as a separate vessel cap by FWC. FWC publishes 'Possession limit on the water: Equal to the daily bag limit.'

Size and sex limits

Carapace length must be larger than 3 inches, measured in the water. Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times. The harvest or possession of eggbearing spiny lobster is prohibited.

Gear rules

Recreational trapping prohibited. No person shall harvest or attempt to harvest spiny lobster using any device which will or could puncture, penetrate or crush the exoskeleton (shell) or the flesh of the lobster. Lobster must be landed in whole condition; separating the tail from the body is prohibited in state waters. Harvesting lobster from a non-permitted artificial habitat is prohibited in Florida. FWC publishes for the regular season: 'Allowable Gear: Landing nets or dip nets, bullynets with a diameter not exceeding 3 feet, and hoop nets with a diameter not exceeding 10 feet.' 'Prohibited Gear: Any device that could puncture, penetrate, or crush the exoskeleton or flesh of the lobster, bleach or other chemical solution, artificial habitat, and traps.' 'Required Gear: Possession and use of a measuring device required at all times.'

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also expands FWC's season line into calendar years and states that no lobster season is open between the two-day sport season and the regular-season opener. Neither is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so neither is published here - see FWC for current season dates.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Protected no-take areas

No take

Everglades National Park, Dry Tortugas National Park, no-take areas in the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary, the Biscayne Bay/Card Sound Lobster Sanctuary, the five Coral Reef Protection Areas in Biscayne National Park, and John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park during the sport season

year-round / sport-season no-harvest sanctuaries

Season

FWC states, in identical wording under both the sport season and the regular season: 'Prohibited Areas: Harvest of lobster is prohibited in John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park during the sport season. At all times, harvest of lobster is prohibited in Everglades National Park, Dry Tortugas National Park, no-take areas in the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary, in the Biscayne Bay/Card Sound Lobster Sanctuary, and in the five Coral Reef Protection Areas in Biscayne National Park.'

Daily bag limit

0 - harvest prohibited.

Vessel limit

0 - harvest prohibited.

Size and sex limits

N/A - no harvest permitted.

Gear rules

N/A - no harvest permitted in these areas regardless of gear.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark does not publish the boundaries of these areas. FWC's page sends harvesters to the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary for the boundaries of its no-take areas - see FWC before harvesting near one.
  • Shellmark's record carries further detail about how the closure applies inside John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current closed and no-take areas.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Stone crab

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/stone-crab

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-24.

Statewide Florida state waters

season, bag limit, size, gear

Season

FWC: 'State Waters Harvest Seasons: Open Oct. 15 - May 1 (closed on May 2)'. FWC adds: 'Traps may be placed in the water 10 days prior to the opening of the season, but once placed, you may not tend to the traps until the start of the season, at which time you may begin harvesting.'

Daily bag limit

1 gallon of claws per person per day.

Vessel limit

2 gallons of claws per vessel per day. FWC states the limit as '1 gallon of claws per person or 2 gallons per vessel, whichever is less.'

Size and sex limits

FWC: 'Minimum Size Limit: 2 7/8 inches; only claws may be harvested' and 'Harvest from egg-bearing crabs prohibited.'

FWC does NOT publish an instruction to return the crab body to the water alive

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

Up to 5 traps per person. FWC: 'Illegal Gear: Any device that can puncture, crush or injure the crab body, such as spears, grains, grabs, hooks or similar devices.' Trap entrance/throat must be 5 1/2 inches by 3 1/2 inches, or, if round, no more than 5 inches in diameter (statewide default outside Collier/Monroe/Miami-Dade - see the county-specific row). Wire traps must have at least three unobstructed escape rings (2 3/8 inches in diameter) located on a vertical side of the trap; for the 2024-25 season and beyond, plastic or wood traps additionally require an unobstructed escape ring 2 3/16 inches in diameter within a vertical exterior trap wall. Maximum trap size 24 inches by 24 inches by 24 inches (8 cubic feet). The trap must have a degradable panel that is 5 1/2 inches by 3 1/2 inches made of cypress or untreated pine slat no thicker than 3/4 of an inch. Traps must be pulled manually and only during daylight hours. Harvester's name, address, and unique recreational trap registration number must be permanently affixed to each trap and legible; stone crab trap registration numbers begin with the letter S.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries a rule on possessing and transporting whole stone crabs, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size and sex limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Collier, Monroe, and Miami-Dade Counties

trap gear spec variance

Season

Same as statewide: Open Oct. 15 - May 1 (closed on May 2).

Daily bag limit

Same as statewide: 1 gallon of claws per person per day.

Vessel limit

Same as statewide: 2 gallons of claws per vessel per day, whichever is less.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide: minimum size limit 2 7/8 inches and only claws may be harvested; harvest from egg-bearing crabs prohibited.

FWC publishes no 'return the body to the water alive' instruction.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC: 'Throat must be no larger than 5 1/2 by 3 1/8 inches in Collier, Monroe and Miami-Dade' and 'Round throats prohibited in Collier, Monroe and Miami-Dade counties.' All other statewide trap specs (escape rings, degradable panel, 5-trap-per-person cap, daylight-only manual pulling, registration marking) apply unchanged.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record cross-references the same rule on possessing and transporting whole stone crabs, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size and sex limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Blue crab

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/blue-crab

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-24.

Statewide Florida state waters

Gulf and Atlantic

season, bag limit, size, gear

Season

FWC's blue crab page publishes NO harvest season line for recreational blue crab in Gulf and Atlantic state waters - its regulation block opens at 'Size Limit: None'.

State Waters Trap Closures - Sept. 20 - Oct. 4: closed to traps in Gulf state waters beyond 3 miles and in federal waters.

Harvest by other legal gear is not closed by any of them.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

10 gallons of whole blue crabs per harvester per day (FWC: 'Daily Bag Limit: 10 gallons whole per harvester per day').

Vessel limit

Not specified as a separate vessel cap by FWC; the 10-gallon limit applies per harvester.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC: 'Size Limit: None' and 'Harvest of egg-bearing crabs prohibited.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC: 'Legal Gear: blue crab trap (max. 5 per person), dip or landing net, drop net, fold up trap, hook and line, push scrape, trotline' and 'Note: Crab snares are not considered legal gear for blue crabs in Florida.' Trap specs: throat size no larger than 2 inches in height by 6 inches in width at its narrowest point, constructed of rigid material; the throat or entrance cannot extend farther than 6 inches into the inside of any trap; maximum trap size 2 feet by 2 feet by 2 feet (8 cubic feet); mesh size 1 1/2 inches or larger; at least three escape rings 2 3/8 inches or larger in diameter, one located on a vertical outer surface adjacent to each chamber; a degradable panel larger than 3 inches by 6 inches. Harvester name and address and the FWC-issued unique trap registration number must be permanently affixed to the trap and legible. Traps must be pulled manually (not by a mechanical trap puller) and only during daylight hours. FWC also publishes 'State Waters Trap Closures - Sept. 20 - Oct. 4: closed to traps in Gulf state waters beyond 3 miles and in federal waters.'

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the closed seasons the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter sets - which close traps, not harvest - and a cross-reference to the six regional closure entries below. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page; the trap closure shown above is FWC's own wording - see FWC for current season dates and trap closures.
  • Shellmark's record also states the daily limit the way the rule chapter words it, which covers possession as well as harvest. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag and vessel limits.
  • Shellmark's record carries a wider egg-bearing prohibition than FWC's page states, again from the rule chapter. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size and sex limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

St. Johns River system and associated lakes/tributaries

regional trap-pulling closure (even-year pattern)

Season

Even-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Even Year Closures' as: 'All waters of the St. Johns River system its associated lakes and tributaries from west of the St. Johns River's intersection with the Intercoastal Canal through and including Lake Helen of Blazes from Jan. 16-25.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, and works out the years it last fell and next falls. Neither is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so neither is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Brevard through Palm Beach Counties

Atlantic coast, excluding the St. Johns River system

regional trap-pulling closure (even-year pattern)

Season

Even-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Even Year Closures' as: 'All waters of Brevard through Palm Beach counties, excluding the St. Johns River system, from Aug. 10-19.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, names the counties the rule enumerates, and works out the years it last fell and next falls. None of that is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so none of it is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Georgia-Florida state line south through Volusia County

Atlantic coast, excluding the St. Johns River system

regional trap-pulling closure (even-year pattern)

Season

Even-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Even Year Closures' as: 'All waters from the Georgia/Florida state line, excluding the St. Johns River system, south through Volusia County from Aug. 20-29.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, names the counties the rule enumerates, and works out the years it last fell and next falls. None of that is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so none of it is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Franklin County west to the Florida-Alabama state line

Panhandle, excluding all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay

regional trap-pulling closure (odd-year pattern)

Season

Odd-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Odd Year Closures' as: 'All waters of Franklin County to the Florida/Alabama state line however, excluding all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay, from Jan. 5-14.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, names the seven counties the rule enumerates, and works out the year it next falls. None of that is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so none of it is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Broward through Pasco Counties

south Florida, both coasts

regional trap-pulling closure (odd-year pattern)

Season

Odd-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Odd Year Closures' as: 'All waters of Broward through Pasco Counties from July 10-19.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, names the twelve counties the rule enumerates, and works out the year it next falls. None of that is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so none of it is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Hernando through Wakulla counties

including all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay

regional trap-pulling closure (odd-year pattern)

Season

Odd-year regional trap closure. FWC lists it under 'Odd Year Closures' as: 'All waters of Hernando through Wakulla counties including all waters of the Ochlockonee River and Bay from July 20-29.'

This is not a harvest season of any kind - it closes traps only.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies outside the closure window.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

FWC: these regional closures 'prohibit recreational and commercial harvest of blue crabs with traps in these areas', and 'These closed seasons only apply to standard blue crab traps. The harvest of blue crabs by other gear, such as dip nets and fold-up traps, is permitted during the closures. Traps that are attached to private property such as a dock are not included in the closures.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also fixes this closure's dates as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words them, names the seven counties the rule enumerates, and works out the year it next falls. None of that is stated on FWC's page on the retrieval date above, so none of it is published here - see FWC for current closure dates.
  • Shellmark's record also states what must happen to traps at the start and end of the closure, quoted from the rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Gulf Seasonal Closure Region

all state waters of the Gulf seaward of three nautical miles from shore

seasonal trap closure (annual)

Season

Annual trap closure, not a harvest season.

FWC's blue crab page states the same dates in wider words of its own: 'State Waters Trap Closures - Sept. 20 - Oct. 4: closed to traps in Gulf state waters beyond 3 miles and in federal waters.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same statewide limit (10 gallons whole per harvester per day) applies; this closure restricts gear, not quantity.

Vessel limit

Not specified.

Size and sex limits

Same as statewide.

Gear rules

Traps only.

FWC states the closure on its page as 'State Waters Trap Closures - Sept. 20 - Oct. 4: closed to traps in Gulf state waters beyond 3 miles and in federal waters.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the Florida Administrative Code rule text that sets this closure (FAC 68B-45.0045(2)) and the rule's own definition of the region (FAC 68B-45.002(7)), which reaches state waters only. Rule-chapter text is not published on FWC's page, and FWC's own line extends the closure to federal waters as well - the two are recorded side by side, not equated. See FWC for the current closure dates and extent.
  • Shellmark's record notes that harvest by legal non-trap gear is not closed by this rule. FWC's page states a non-trap permission only in its description of the six regional closures, not for this one, so it is not published here - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Shrimp

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/shrimp

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida state waters (Gulf and Atlantic)

outside the Big Bend Region and the Northeast and Northwest regional closures in the rows below

season, bag limit, size, gear

Season

FWC publishes regional closures only (see the Northeast and Northwest rows below) and states: 'All other regions (Southeast and Southwest) open year-round.' FWC also states: 'Closed areas: Contact your nearest FWC Law Enforcement office for local restrictions.'

Daily bag limit

FWC: 'Within all other state waters, individuals can take 5 gallons (heads on) per harvester or 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

FWC: 'Possession limit of no more than 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel at any time regardless of the number of persons onboard.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC's shrimp page states nothing on a size limit.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC: 'No more than two nets shall be fished from a single vessel at any one time.' FWC lists a landing or dip net 'with an opening no larger than 96 inches around the perimeter'; a cast net with a stretched length 'no greater than 14 feet'; a push net; a beach or haul seine (mesh area no larger than 500 square feet, mesh no larger than 2 inches stretched, not monofilament); a frame net (opening up to 16 feet around the perimeter, not monofilament, not towed as a trawl, not used in Miami-Dade County, not fished from an operational bridge or causeway); and 'Up to four shrimp traps, each up to 36 in. length by 24 in. width by 12 in. height.' FWC's trap guidelines: no external wings, 'The harvester's name and address should be securely affixed to each trap.' and 'Harvesters must tend their shrimp traps when the traps are attached to public property.' FWC also limits baiting with nonmetal poles (no more than five poles, each no more than 1 inch in diameter, daylight only).

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the daily and vessel limits as the rule chapter words them, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag and vessel limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the rule's statement that there is no recreational size limit, and its requirement that shrimp be landed whole, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits and landing rules.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a rule that bars harvest with any gear the rule does not expressly permit, and the rule's stricter wording of the trap-label requirement ('must' where FWC's trap guideline says 'should'), quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Big Bend Region shrimp closed area

FWC: south and east of the St. Marks Lighthouse in Wakulla County and north of Bailey's Bluff in New Port Richey

bag limit, gear (Big Bend area)

Season

FWC's shrimp page publishes no closed season for recreational harvest in this area.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

FWC: 'Within the Big Bend Region, individuals can take 2 gallons (heads on) per person or 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

FWC: 'Within the Big Bend Region, individuals can take 2 gallons (heads on) per person or 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC's shrimp page states nothing on a size limit.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC: 'Within the Big Bend Closed area, only landing or dip nets and cast nets are allowed.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also names the counties this area covers and the rule line that bounds it, from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter. FWC's page describes the area only by its two end points and refers harvesters to the rule for the official boundary - see FWC before harvesting near it.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a note that the rule chapter closes the Big Bend Region only to commercial food shrimp production, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current season dates.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the 2-gallon and 5-gallon limits as the rule chapter words them, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag and vessel limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the rule's statement that there is no recreational size limit, and its requirement that shrimp be landed whole, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits and landing rules.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the dimensions of the two nets permitted in this area, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Northeast Region

inside waters of Nassau, Duval, St. Johns, Putnam, Flagler and Clay counties

closed season

Season

FWC: 'Northeast Region (inside waters of Nassau, Duval, St. Johns, Putnam, Flagler, and Clay counties): closed April 1 through May 31.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same as statewide: FWC 'individuals can take 5 gallons (heads on) per harvester' outside the Big Bend Region

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

Same as statewide: FWC 'Possession limit of no more than 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel at any time regardless of the number of persons onboard.'

Size and sex limits

FWC's shrimp page states nothing on a size limit.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

Same as the statewide row.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the closed season as the rule chapter words it, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current season dates.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a reference to the rule that sets the daily limit, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the rule's statement that there is no recreational size limit, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a Northeast Region gear restriction on harvesting from a vessel under power in the inside waters of Volusia County, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Northwest Region, Franklin County

Apalachicola Bay, St. Vincent Sound with year-round closed waters in Franklin, Wakulla and Gulf counties

closed seasons and closed areas (Franklin County)

Season

FWC: 'Northwest Region (a portion of Apalachicola Bay, Franklin County): closed March 1 through May 31 and September 15 through December 31' and 'Northwest Region (all of Apalachicola Bay and St. Vincent Sound, Franklin County): harvest prohibited between sunrise and sunset from July 15 through September 14.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Daily bag limit

Same as statewide: FWC 'individuals can take 5 gallons (heads on) per harvester' outside the Big Bend Region

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

Same as statewide: FWC 'Possession limit of no more than 5 gallons (heads on) per vessel at any time regardless of the number of persons onboard.'

Size and sex limits

FWC's shrimp page states nothing on a size limit.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

Same as the statewide row; FWC's page states nothing on gear specific to this region.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the Florida Administrative Code rule text for these closures, which places the September 15 - December 31 closure in a portion of St. George Sound and the March 1 - May 31 closure in a portion of Apalachicola Bay. FWC's page places both windows in a portion of Apalachicola Bay. The two are recorded side by side, not equated, and rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for where each closure applies.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a reference to the rule that sets the daily limit, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the rule's statement that there is no recreational size limit, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Blue land crab

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/blue-land-crabs

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida

season, bag limit, size, gear

Season

FWC: 'Harvest Seasons: Closed July 1- October 31'.

Daily bag limit

FWC: 'Daily Bag Limit: 20 per person'.

Vessel limit

FWC's blue land crab page states nothing on a vessel limit.

Size and sex limits

FWC: 'Size Limit: None' and 'Harvest, possession, purchase or sale of eggbearing blue land crabs is prohibited.' FWC also states: 'The practice of stripping or otherwise molesting eggbearing blue land crabs in order to remove the eggs is prohibited and the harvest, possession, purchase or sale of blue land crabs from which the eggs, egg pouch or bunion has been removed is prohibited.'

Gear rules

FWC: 'Legal Gear: by hand, landing or dip net' and 'Illegal Gear: traps, bleach or any other chemical solution'.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Sea urchin

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/marine-life

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida state waters

FWC: 'State regulations for marine life apply in federal waters'

marine life bag limit, gear

Season

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a season for urchins.

Daily bag limit

FWC: 'No more than 5 individuals of each species per person per day within 20-organism aggregate; bag limit of 2 live shells (includes Echinoderms) of any single species per harvester per day in Manatee County; harvest prohibited in Lee County; harvest of Longspine Urchin (Diadema antillarum) prohibited'. General marine life limit, FWC: 'Bag Limit: 20 organisms per person per day; only 5 of any one species allowed within the 20-organism bag limit unless otherwise noted.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a vessel limit. It states a per-person possession limit: 'Possession Limit: 2-day possession limit, 40 total organisms, no more than 10 of any one species allowed.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a size limit for urchins.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC's marine life page lists allowable gear as hand collection, hand held net, drop net, barrier net and slurp gun, and states 'Use of quinaldine is prohibited.'

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries a rule that bars possessing or landing the longspine urchin as well as harvesting it, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the 40-organism possession limit as the rule chapter words it, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current possession limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a note that the rule's size limits name fishes only, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Octopus

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/marine-life

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida state waters

FWC: 'State regulations for marine life apply in federal waters'

marine life bag limit, gear (octopods other than common octopus)

Season

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a season for octopods.

Daily bag limit

Octopods other than the common octopus, FWC: 'Except Common Octopus (Octopodus vulgaris); 5 individuals of each species per person per day within 20-organism aggregate; bag limit of 2 live shells of any single species per harvester per day in Manatee County; harvest prohibited in Lee County'.

COMMON OCTOPUS: none of the FWC pages read on 2026-10-31 publishes a bag limit naming the common octopus.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a vessel limit. It states a per-person possession limit: 'Possession Limit: 2-day possession limit, 40 total organisms, no more than 10 of any one species allowed.'

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC's marine life page states nothing on a size limit for octopods.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Gear rules

FWC's marine life page lists allowable gear as hand collection, hand held net, drop net, barrier net and slurp gun, and states 'Use of quinaldine is prohibited.' FWC's pages state nothing on gear for the common octopus.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the 20-organism daily limit as the rule chapter words it, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current bag limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries the 40-organism possession limit as the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter words it, and reads it as not covering the common octopus. Neither is stated on FWC's page, so neither is published here - see FWC for current possession limits, and for any limit on the common octopus.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a note that the rule's size limits name fishes only, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current size limits.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Queen conch

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/sea-shells

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida waters

No take

and possession regardless of where harvested

harvest and possession prohibited (protected species)

Season

FWC states no season; its sea shell page states: 'Possession of live Queen Conch (Strombus gigas) at any time is prohibited.'

Daily bag limit

0 - harvest prohibited.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

None; possession is prohibited (FWC: 'Possession of live Queen Conch (Strombus gigas) at any time is prohibited.'). FWC's pages state nothing on a separate vessel limit.

Size and sex limits

FWC: 'It is not unlawful to possess queen conch shells in Florida as long as the shells do not contain any living queen conch at the time of collection, and so long as a living queen conch is not killed, mutilated, or removed from its shell prior to collection. Possession of conch meat or a queen conch shell having an off-center hole larger than 1/16 inch in diameter through its spire is prohibited.'

Gear rules

FWC's pages state nothing on gear for queen conch, because harvest is prohibited.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also quotes FWC's marine life page, which lists queen conch as 'Harvest prohibited', and the Florida Administrative Code rule that bars harvesting, killing, molesting, possessing, transporting or landing a queen conch. Neither is on the FWC sea shell page linked for this species, so neither is published here - see FWC for current rules.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a rule that a queen conch caught unintentionally must be returned to the water at once, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current handling rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Horseshoe crab

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/marine-life

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida state waters

No take

recreational harvest prohibited

Season

FWC states no season; its marine life page lists 'Crab, Horseshoe (Limulus polyphemus)' as 'Recreational harvest prohibited'.

Daily bag limit

0 for recreational harvesters; FWC: 'Recreational harvest prohibited'.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

None for recreational harvesters; FWC's pages state nothing on a vessel limit.

Size and sex limits

FWC's pages state nothing on size or sex for horseshoe crab.

Gear rules

FWC's pages state nothing on gear for horseshoe crab.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also carries the daily limits the rule chapter sets for holders of a saltwater products license, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current limits.
  • Shellmark's record also carries a gear rule for licensed harvesters, quoted from the Florida Administrative Code rule chapter rather than from FWC's page. Rule-chapter text is not published on this page - see FWC for current gear rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.

Species

Bahama starfish

On FWC's site: myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/recreational/sea-shells

Retrieved from FWC sources 2026-10-31.

Statewide Florida waters

No take

within or without the waters of the state

harvest prohibited

Season

FWC states no season; its sea shell page states: 'All harvest of the Bahama Starfish (Oreaster reticulatis) is prohibited.'

Daily bag limit

0 - harvest prohibited.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Vessel limit

None;

FWC's pages state nothing on a separate vessel limit.

Only the part confirmed on FWC's page is shown here.

Size and sex limits

FWC's pages state nothing on size or sex for Bahama starfish, because harvest is prohibited.

Gear rules

FWC's pages state nothing on gear for Bahama starfish, because harvest is prohibited.

What Shellmark could not confirm on FWC's page

  • Shellmark's record also quotes FWC's marine life page, which lists harvest of the Bahama starfish as prohibited, and the Florida Administrative Code rule that bars harvesting, possessing or landing it. Neither is on the FWC sea shell page linked for this species, so neither is published here - see FWC for current rules.

See FWC for current license, permit and trap-registration requirements.